

## **South Africa**

## **Reciprocal Enforcement of Arbitration Awards**

Jurisdictions with which South Africa has reciprocal enforcement arrangements for arbitral awards (via the New York Convention).



Afghanistan Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Antigua and Barbuda Angola Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belaium Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia

Bonaire

Bosnia & Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Cook Islands Costa Rica

Côte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curação Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Diibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Democratic Republic of Congo Ecuador Egypt El Salvador England and Wales Estonia Ethiopia' Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France Gabon

France Gabon Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guvana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy

Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malavsia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Mauritania Mauritius

Mexico Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenearo Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Norfolk Island Northern Ireland Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru

Phillipines Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Romania Russia Rwanda Saba Saint Vincent and the Grenadines San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Scotland Senegal Serbia Seychelles Singapore Sint Eustatius Sint Maarten Slovakia Slovenia South Korea

Spain

Sri Lanka Sudan Sweden Switzerland Svria Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Trinidad and Tobago Tonga Tunisia Turkey Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United States of America Uruguay US Virgin Islands Uzbekistan Venezuela Vietnam Zambia

Zimbabwe

**Important Note:** This is a simplified guide. The map above refers to jurisdictions rather than States. Some borders are disputed and the above map should not be considered an endorsement of any particular territorial claim. Not all dependent territories or equivalents may be shown. Some jurisdictions apply the New York Convention only to certain types of claim. Correct as at 1 September 2020.

## For more information, please contact:



Darryl Bernstein
Partner, Johannesburg
Dispute Resolution
+27 11 911 4367
darryl.bernstein@bakermckenzie.com



John Bell
Partner, Johannesburg
Dispute Resolution
+27 11 911 4366
john.bell@bakermckenzie.com



## www.bakermckenzie.com

<sup>\*</sup>The New York Convention will enter into force for Ethiopia on 22/11/2020.